City Government

Welcome to our Community

Thanks for visiting the home site of the City of Richmond, Missouri.┬áHere you will find information about City services, City contacts, local activities, as well as parks and recreation information, parks information, codes information and other resources. If you’re looking for something specific, try the search bar at the top of the page, or feel free to just look around.

The City of Richmond operates under a Mayor Administrator-Council form of government. City Hall is located at 205 Summit Street, in downtown Richmond.

An eight-member Council, chaired by the Mayor, presides over the city and meets twice a month at 6:30PM on the second and fourth Tuesday in the City Hall Council Chambers. Under Richmond’s form of government, City Council members are elected to two-year terms on a rotating basis with two representatives elected from each of four wards. The Mayor is elected at large to a four-year term. The mayor presides over the City Council meetings and Council members elect a mayor pro-tem, who presides over meetings when the mayor is unavailable to attend.

The mayor pro-tem is elected from within the Council on an annual basis. City Council members are appointed to committees by the Mayor annually. Committees established to review city projects include the Finance Committee, Public Works Committee, Public Safety Committee and Ordinance Committee. Each committee consists of three Council members, with one being the chairman.

By law, virtually all city business requiring council approval must be presented to the council during meetings that are open to the public. In addition to paying bills and discussing city projects and expenditures, time is allotted at the beginning of each meeting for residents to voice their concerns to the Council. Residents may attend any committee meeting held during the work sessions. Residents may also bring any concern to the City Administrator, whose office is located at City Hall.